The Blues.

Lately. Days have been harder. I’ve woken up feeling sad, unmotivated or “muted”. Like I am just going through the motions. It hasn’t been a full week of it, and I am not dwelling on it. 

I talked to my Dad about it. It could be simply emotions from my Grampa passing. It could be Seasonal Affective Disorder, which actually is quite interesting and you can read about it here. It could be, God forbid, hormonal. 

But whatever it is, I’m being as proactive about it as possible. And I thought I’d share my sadness combating techniques!

 

  1. Go for a walk.  Bundle up, grab the dog’s leash, put on your sunglasses. Get out and get moving and breathe in some fresh air.
  2. Do something for someone else. It almost always works for me.
  3. Paint your toenails. When I was in middle school I read a silly little article about cheering yourself up in a magazine. They suggested painting your nails something bright. And it’s been a little habit ever since!
  4. Eat your vitamins. I always feel a bit off balance if I don’t take mine.
  5. Escape. Read a book. Go for a drive to a part of town you don’t know many people. Treat yourself to coffee. Buy yourself flowers.
  6. Listen to music that makes you smile. It’s too easy to get sadder and over-think everything if you’re listening to sad tunes.
  7. Eat chocolate. (In case it’s the Dementors gettin’ you down)
  8. Check something off your to-do list. Doesn’t have to be big. Just do that one little thing to make you feel like you were productive and it might lift you up just enough.
  9. Call someone. Not text. Call. Better yet, meet someone for a chat. Focusing on someone else, or talking about what could be getting you down can really make you feel lighter. I always call my Dad because he’s sensible and logical and just sensitive enough to “get it”.
  10. Just be the emotion. Are you hurt? Are you sad? Are you angry? Resentful? Do you feel like crying? Do it. The release of tears is a chemical reliever for the body and you might have just needed a good cry! 

And there’s my list! I’ve done almost everything on that list to get myself back up there. Some days it works better than others. I try not to give myself too much time unoccupied because I know myself, and I know that I’ll get down or lonely feeling. 

Do you have any go to tricks to boost your mood?

 

Well I hope your evening is lovely and thank you for dropping by to read my sporadic posts! ❤

One thought on “The Blues.

Leave a Reply

